Office of the Governor, Bobby Jindal, State of Louisiana
"I'm asking you to once again believe in Louisiana."
Stay Connected with Governor Jindal - Email The Governor
Text Size Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size
News > Press Releases
Subscribe to news feedE-mail this to a friendPrinter-Friendly Version

Feb 06, 2008
Governor Bobby Jindal Announces Appointments to Board of Pardons

BATON ROUGE – Today, Governor Bobby Jindal announced five appointments to the Board of Pardons, including Leonard “Pop” Hataway of Dry Prong, Kenneth Jones of Slidell, Henry Tank Powell of Ponchatoula, and the reappointment of Larry Clark of Alexandria and Clement LaFleur of Ville Platte.

The Governor appoints the five members of the Board of Pardons. The board meets on regularly scheduled, publicly announced dates to consider applications for pardon, sentence commutation, and the restoration of rights and privileges of citizenship.

Larry Clark, of Alexandria, is currently serving as vice chairman of the Louisiana Board of Pardons. Clark has owned and operated a flower shop since 1970 which later grew to three stores. Clark previously served in the Louisiana Army Reserve from 1972 to 1978. He is a permanent board member of the Pentecostals of Alexandria.

Leonard “Pop” Hataway, of Dry Prong, has served as the sheriff of Grant Parish since 1976. Hataway is also the former president of the Louisiana Sheriff’s for Better Law Enforcement organization, former president of the Louisiana Sheriff’s Association, and vice president of the Red River Delta Planning Council. He is a member of the Louisiana Highway Board, the Drug Control and Violent Crime Policy Board, and the U.S. Penitentiary Community Relations Board. Hataway is a graduate of the Federal Bureau of Investigations Academy in Washington D.C., the National Sheriff’s Institute in Los Angeles, the LSU Law Enforcement Institute in Baton Rouge, and the University of Oklahoma’s Interrogation School in Normon, Oklahoma.

Kenneth Jones, of Slidell, is a retired law enforcement officer from the Racine County Sheriff’s Office in Wisconsin. Jones served five years in the Air Force before working for local law enforcement. Jones has nine years of local law enforcement experience as a deputy with the Racine County Sheriff’s Office and the Grave’s County Sheriff’s Office in Kentucky. He has received many honors for his service in the field, including the commendation of valor. Jones has served on the Planning and Zoning Commission for St. Tammany Parish and currently sits on the St. Tammany Board of Adjustment.  

Clement LaFleur Jr., of Ville Platte, has served as a member of the Board of Pardons for four years and has an extensive background in youth outreach. Since 1998, he has served as the program director for the Teen Outreach Program in Ville Platte and is the program coordinator for the Evangeline Community Action Youth Development organization. LaFleur is a member of the United Way Board, the Faith House for Domestic Violence Board, the Louisiana Technical College Advisory Board, the Ville Platte Medical Center Board, and is a former school board member. LaFleur is a graduate of Louisiana Technical College.   

Henry “Tank” Powell, of Ponchatoula, is the owner of Powell & Associates Insurance LLC. Powell became an insurance salesman in 1968 and less than 10 years later, he became the owner and operator of Powell & Associates Insurance LLC. Powell was elected to the Louisiana House of Representatives in 1995 to represent District 73. He served on the education committee, the labor and industrial relations committee, and the transportation committee. Powell received his bachelors of arts in sociology from Southern University. 


Related Links

Louisiana Board of Pardons Web Site >> State Police Emergency Information Louisiana Economic Development Fight Fraud Hotline Get A Game Plan