Office of the Governor, Bobby Jindal, State of Louisiana
"I'm asking you to once again believe in Louisiana."
Stay Connected with Governor Jindal - Email The Governor
Text Size Increase Text SizeDecrease Text Size
News > Press Releases
Subscribe to news feedE-mail this to a friendPrinter-Friendly Version

Feb 22, 2013
Governor Bobby Jindal Announces Appointments to the Louisiana Emergency Response Commission

BATON ROUGE- Today, Governor Bobby Jindal announced appointments to the Louisiana Emergency Response Commission.

The Louisiana Emergency Response Commission shall establish emergency planning districts, appoint local emergency planning committees, supervise and coordinate the activities of local emergency planning committees, provide the Environmental Protection Agency with information concerning notification received on certain releases of hazardous materials and substances, designate facilities subject to hazardous material reporting procedures, recommend a standardized inventory form for gathering required information and develop reporting procedures, recommend additional substances which should be defined as hazardous materials, act as the central advisory body for coordinating state and federal Right-to-Know activities with regard to hazardous substances, establish procedures for recalling and processing public requests for information, and review local planning committee emergency response plans. 

According to executive order BJ 2008 -72, the Louisiana Emergency Response Commission shall be composed of twenty gubernatorial appointments including the following or their designees: the deputy secretary of the Department of Public Safety, the secretary of the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ), the secretary of the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, the two directors of the Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness, Military Department, Office of the Governor, a representative of the Right-To-Know Unit, Department of Public Safety, and Office of State Police. According to executive order, the board is also comprised of the following: a representative of the Louisiana Emergency Preparedness Association, a member of the Louisiana State University Fire and Emergency Training Program, a representative of environmental interests, a representative of the chemical industry nominated by the Louisiana Chemical Association, and ten at-large members. 

Appointments to the Louisiana Emergency Response Commission:

Captain Taylor Moss, of Prairieville, serves as the Commander of the Emergency Services Unit which incorporates Right to Know, Hazardous Materials, and the Explosive Control Unit in the State Police. Captain Moss will be appointed to serve as a representative of the Right to Know Unit, as required by statute.

Brent Robbins, of Baton Rouge, is the Deputy Commissioner of Marketing & Agro-Economic Development for the Department of Agriculture. Robbins will be reappointed to serve as a designee of the Commissioner of the Department of Agriculture, as required by statute. 

### State Police Emergency Information Louisiana Economic Development Fight Fraud Hotline Get A Game Plan