EXECUTIVE DEPARTMENT

PROCLAMATION NUMBER 89 JBE 2020

COVID-19 PUBLIC HEALTH EMERGENCY

ADDITIONAL PHASE 2 MITIGATION MEASURES

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

pursuant to the Louisiana Homeland Security and Emergency Assistance and Disaster
Act, La. R.S. 29:721, et seq., the Governor declared a public health emergency on March
11, 2020 in Proclamation Number 25 JBE 2020 in response to the threat posed by
COVID-19;

pursuant to the Louisiana Homeland Security and Emergency Assistance and Disaster
Act,La. R.S. 29:721, et seq., on March 11, 2020 in Proclamation Number 25 JBE 2020,
the Governor declared that a statewide public health emergency existed in the State of
Louisiana because of COVID-19 and expressly empowered the Governor's Office of
Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness and the Secretary of the Department of
Health and/or the State Health Officer to take all actions authorized under state law;

La. R.S. 29:761 provides that “[b]ecause the government must do all that is reasonable
and necessary to protect the health and safety of its citizens; because new and emerging
dangers, including emergent and resurgent infectious diseases . . . pose serious and
immediate threats; because a renewed focus on the prevention, detection, management,
and containment of public health emergencies is essential; and because emergency health
threats . . . may require the exercise of extraordinary government powers and functions,
the state must have the ability to respond, rapidly and effectively, to potential or actual
public health emergencies™;

on March 22, 2020, in Proclamation Number 33 JBE 2020, the Governor issued a Stay
at Home order that, among other things, ordered the people of Louisiana to stay at their
homes unless taking essential trips or to travel to or from a place of employment, ordered
some non-essential businesses to be closed, and placed limitations on other businesses
that were allowed to remain open, which was ultimately extended until May 15, 2020;

on April 16, 2020, the White House Coronavirus Task Force issued guidelines entitled
“Opening Up America Again” that provided guidance to the states on how various parts
of the economy could be re-opened;

this guidance calls for the re-opening to occur in three phases, with the criteria for
movement into the first phase being a 14-day downward trajectory in influenza-like and
COVID-like symptoms, a 14-day downward trajectory in cases or positive tests as a
percent of total tests, and the ability for hospitals to treat all patients without crisis care;

the criteria also calls for the state to have a robust testing program in place, including
testing for at-risk healthcare workers;

pursuant to Proclamation Number 58 JBE 2020, the State of Louisiana moved into Phase
1 of recovery on Friday, May 15, 2020;

pursuant to Proclamation Number 74 JBE 2020, the State of Louisiana moved into Phase
2 of recovery on Friday, June 4, 2020,



WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

WHEREAS,

since the Phase 2 order, Louisiana has seen an alarming increase in the number of new
COVID-19 positive tests, with increasing positivity rates, and hospitalizations, requiring
that the state remain in Phase 2 so as to maintain the progress the state has made while at
the same time slowing down the recent spread of COVID-19;

in the last seven days alone, Louisiana has seen an increase of 13,514 cases and over 200
new hospitalized patients with COVID-19, with the highest current amount of
hospitalized patients since the middle of May;

the rise in new cases of COVID-19 is not uniform across age groups as it was in the initial
weeks of the outbreak, with young adults aged 18-29 years and children under 18 accounting
for the majority of new cases since entering Phase 2;

this age-group has seen a significant increase in the number of cases per capita from 207 per
100,000 in March to 1058 per 100,000 in June;

this age-group specific increase may reflect, in part, the effect of opening and expanding
sectors related to amusement, with at least 36 known outbreaks across the state occurring in
bars;

poor adherence to mask wearing appears to be a significant problem and recurrent theme in
case interviews conducted through contact tracing;

there is an increased risk of infection at large gatherings, with a significant number of the
new COVID-19 cases being traced back to such events, necessitating a reduction in the
number of people who can gather in a single space at a single time, where strict social
distancing is unable to occur;

this restriction is based upon the White House Coronavirus Task Force guidance which
recommends that any gatherings of over 50 people in Phase 2 be limited;

this gradual re-opening is based upon the advice and expertise of medical experts at the
Louisiana Department of Health;

should there be an increase in the number of confirmed COVID-19 cases or should the
number of COVID-19 related hospitalizations threaten the ability of the health care
system to properly respond, it may be necessary to go back to the full restrictions in the
Stay at Home order in Proclamation Number 52 JBE 2020; and

these measures are necessary to protect the health and safety of the people of Louisiana.

NOW THEREFORE, I, JOHN BEL EDWARDS, Governor of the State of Louisiana, by virtue of
the authority vested by the Constitution and the laws of the State of Louisiana, do hereby order and
direct as follows:

SECTION 1:

SECTION 2:

SECTION 3:

This order is meant to supplement the declaration of emergency in Proclamation 83 JBE
2020 and the mitigation measures therein, therefore, Proclamation 83 JBE 2020 shall
remain in full force and effect until it expires on July 24, 2020, unless extended.

Sections 2(G)(1)(c) and (d) of Proclamation 83 JBE 2020 are hereby amended to the
following:

No bar, with or without a food service permit from the Louisiana Department of
Health, shall allow for on premises consumption of any food or drinks. However,
any bar shall be allowed to provide for takeout through drive-thru or curbside
delivery, including alcoholic beverages.

Section 2(H) of Proclamation 83 JBE 2020 is hereby amended to the following:

Crowd sizes are limited to no more than 50 people in any single indoor space at the
same time. Crowd sizes are limited to no more than 50 people in any single outdoor



space where individuals will be in close proximity to one another and unable to
maintain strict social distancing of six feet apart from individuals who are not
immediate household members. This crowd size limitation shall not apply to those
businesses deemed essential as defined by the Cybersecurity and Infrastructure
Security Agency or any businesses and organizations operating at 50% capacity
pursuant to Paragraphs (1) through (6) of Subsection (G) of Section 2 of 83 JBE
2020, including churches and other faith-based organizations.

SECTION 4: FACE COVERING ORDER

A)

B)

O

D)

E)

F)

Every individual in Louisiana shall wear a face covering over the nose and mouth
when inside a commercial establishment or any other building or space open to
the public, whether indoor or outdoor. This shall include public or commercial
modes of transportation.

This requirement does not apply to the following:

1) Any individual who will not come in contact with any other individual
(outside of their immediate household members) or who will be able to
maintain strict social distancing of six feet apart from any other individual
(outside of their immediate household members);

2) Any child under the age of eight, however all children between the ages of
two and seven years old are strongly encouraged to wear a face covering in
accordance with Subsection (A) of this Section;

3) Any individual with a medical condition that prevents the wearing of a face
covering;

4) Any individual who is consuming food or drinks;

5) Any individual seeking to communicate with someone who is hearing
impaired;

6) Any individual giving a speech for broadcast or to an audience; and

7} Any individual temporarily removing his or her face covering for
identification purposes.

All businesses or organizations, including all offices of the State of Louisiana, its
political subdivisions, and all other governmental offices, shall require all persons
who enter the premises to wear a face covering, unless either of the following

apply:

1) The individual is not required to wear a face covering pursuant to Subsection
4(B) of this order.

2) The business or organization is located in a parish that has opted out of the
face covering requirements pursuant to Subsection 4(F) of this Emergency
Proclamation.

Citations under this Section shall be written only to businesses or organizations,
other than religious organizations, that fail to enforce the requirement to wear
face coverings. Operators of businesses and organizations are entitled to rely on
the representations of their customers, patrons, or employees regarding whether
or not they qualify for an exception from the face covering requirements.
Businesses and organizations that rely on such a representation shall not be
deemed to be in violation of this Emergency Proclamation.

If a business or organization does not allow entry to a worker, customer, or patron
because that person refuses to wear a face covering, and if that worker, customer,
or patron enters the premises or refuses to leave the premises, law enforcement
personnel may enforce the trespassing laws and any other laws that the worker,
customer, or patron may violate.

This order shall apply statewide. However, if a parish has less than 100 new
positive cases of COVID-19 per 100,000 people in the parish for the immediate
preceding two-week cumulative period, as determined by the Louisiana
Department of Health, the parish may opt out of this face covering requirement



by sending written notice from the governing authority of the parish to the
Director of the Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency
Preparedness. The Louisiana Department of Health shall publish on its COVID-
19 dashboard a rolling list of the two-week incidence of cases per 100,000
residents in each parish.

SECTION 5:  The Governor’s Office of Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness and the State
Fire Marshal are directed to ensure compliance with this order, and are empowered to
exercise all authorities pursuant to La. R.S. 29:721, et seq., and La. R.S. 29:760, et seq.

SECTION 6:  All departments, commissions, boards, agencies and officers of the state, or any political
subdivision thereof, are authorized and directed to cooperate in actions the state may take
in response to the effects of this event.

SECTION 7:  Unless otherwise provided in this order, these provisions are effective from Monday, July
13, 2020 to Friday, July 24, 2020, or as extended by any subsequent Proclamation, unless
terminated sooner.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, | have set my hand
officially and caused to be affixed the Great Seal of
Louisiana in the City of Baton Rouge, on this 11"
day of July, 2020.

Db Shshs

OR OF LOUISIANA

ATTEST BY THE
SECRETARY OF STATE

SECRETARY OF STATE



