Today, Gov. John Bel Edwards announced his appointments to several Louisiana boards and commissions.

Parish Board of Election Supervisors
The purpose of the board in each parish is to oversee and supervise all elections within the parish to ensure the safety and accuracy of the democratic process. The Board of Election Supervisors oversees the preparation and conducting of each election in the parish. Each parish’s board is composed of the parish’s registrar of voters, the parish’s clerk of court, the chairman of the parish executive committee of each recognized political party, and one member appointed by the governor.

Dianne T. Polk, of Lottie, was reappointed to the Parish Board of Election Supervisors. Polk is a cook at Louisiana Laborers Training Fund. She will serve as the election supervisor of Pointe Coupee Parish.


Louisiana Educational Television Authority
The Louisiana Educational Television Authority serves to promote the use of educational television and technology in the state of Louisiana to further the education and cultural enrichments of its citizens. 

Gwendolyn “Gigi” C. Carter, of New Orleans, was reappointed to the Louisiana Education Television Authority. Carter will serve as a representative of the 2nd Congressional District.


Medicaid Pharmaceutical and Therapeutics Committee 
The Medicaid Pharmaceutical & Therapeutics Committee is responsible for developing and maintaining a preferred drug list (PDL) in conjunction with a prior approval process relating to the Medicaid drug program.

Ben B. Orlando, of Monroe, was reappointed to the Medicaid Pharmaceutical & Therapeutics Committee. Orlando is a Pharmacist with Brookshire’s Pharmacy. As required by statue, he was nominated by the LA Pharmacists Association and will serve as the pharmacist representing a chain pharmacy.


Greater New Orleans Expressway Commission 
The Greater New Orleans Expressway Commission is responsible for constructing, maintaining, repairing and operating the dual span bridge-Expressway and requisite approaches, and the Causeway Bridge across Lake Pontchartrain connecting Jefferson and St. Tammany Parishes. In addition, in Act 762 of 1986 the State has asked the Commission to police the Huey P. Long Bridge across the Mississippi River.

Donald Sharp, of Covington, was appointed to the Greater New Orleans Expressway Commission. Sharp is a former chief deputy for the St. Tammany Parish Sheriff's Office.  As required by statute, he was nominated by a legislator representing St. Tammany Parish and will serve as a member from St. Tammany Parish.


State Board of Nursing
The Louisiana State Board of Nursing is responsible for safeguarding the life and health of Louisiana residents through the regulation of persons practicing or offering to practice as a registered nurse. The board also establishes minimum curriculum requirements and approves nursing schools. 

Denise O. Bottcher, of Baton Rouge, was appointed to the Louisiana State Board of Nursing. She is the state director for Louisiana at AARP. She will serve as the consumer member on the board.