Today, Gov. John Bel Edwards announced his appointments to several Louisiana boards and commissions.  

Children’s Cabinet Advisory Board

The Children’s Cabinet serves as the governing body for the State of Louisiana responsible for coordinating funding and programmatic services at the state and local level, related to children and their families. It consists of the cabinet secretary of each state department and is chaired by the executive director of the Children’s Cabinet, who is appointed by the governor.

Angela Ann Roberts of Opelousas has been appointed to the Children’s Cabinet Advisory Board. Roberts is the family in need of services coordinator for the 27th Judicial Court District and will represent the LA Families in Need of Services Association.

Louisiana Tax Commission

The Louisiana Tax Commission's mission is to achieve fair, accurate, and uniform ad valorem taxation through effective oversight of assessors and improved ratio studies, providing assessment guidelines and other technical assistance, commitment to improved efficiency through technology, and professional and unbiased administration of tax laws.

Sandra S. Potier of Lafayette has been appointed to the Louisiana Tax Commission. Potier is the CFO of Acadiana Legal Service Corporation and will represent the 2nd Public Service Commission District.

Louisiana Rehabilitation Council

The Louisiana Rehabilitation Council listens to the concerns of those with disability issues, reviews, analyzes and evaluates the state rehabilitation program, collaborates with other state agencies, organizations and consumer groups.

Jessica Lewis of Gonzales has been appointed to the Louisiana Rehabilitation Council. Lewis is the director of the Statewide Independent Living Council.

Louisiana Board of Chiropractic Examiners

The Louisiana Board of Chiropractic Examiners serves to license and regulate chiropractors in the state of Louisiana.

Mark B. Kruse, D.C. of Metairie has been reappointed to the Louisiana Board of Chiropractic Examiners. Kruse is a chiropractor at the Family Chiropractic Center.

Louisiana Forestry Commission

The purpose is to protect, conserve, and replenish the natural resources of the state; the practice of forestry in the state is placed under the Louisiana Forestry Commission, which is hereby established in the executive branch of the state government.

William A. Jenkins of Angie has been reappointed to the Louisiana Forestry Commission. Jenkins is the owner of Bill Jenkins Forestry Services and will represent interests in operating timberlands.

Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District

The mission of the Capital Area Ground Water Conservation District is to provide for the efficient administration, conservation, orderly development, and supplementation of groundwater resources in the parishes of East Baton Rouge, East Feliciana, Pointe Coupee, West Baton Rouge and West Feliciana. The board develops, promotes, and implements management strategies to provide for the conservation, preservation, protection, recharging, and prevention of waste of the groundwater resources over which it has jurisdictional authority.

James M. Reonas of Baton Rouge has been reappointed to the Capital Area Groundwater Conservation District. Reonas is a marketing representative for the Louisiana Office of Conservation and will serve as the designee of the Commissioner of Conservation.