Today, Gov. John Bel Edwards announced his appointments to several Louisiana boards and commissions.  

Louisiana Rehabilitation Council

The Louisiana Rehabilitation Council listens to the concerns of those with disability issues, reviews, analyzes and evaluates the state rehabilitation program, and collaborates with other state agencies, organizations and consumer groups.

Dr. Ashley M. Volion of New Orleans has been appointed to the Louisiana Rehabilitation Council. Dr. Volion is a policy analyst for Disability Rights Louisiana. She will serve at-large.

Louisiana State Arts Council

The Louisiana State Arts Council receives applications for matching federal funds available from the National Endowment for the Arts and such other funds made available to the council and make recommendations thereon. The Council reviews and approves or rejects said grant applications from other governmental units, community arts councils, and other private, nonprofit, and tax-exempt groups. Additionally, the Council advises departmental officers on the design and execution of an annual state plan consistent with the goals and policies of the department as provided by federal and state law, rules, and regulations, and submits the plan to the National Endowment for the Arts.

Nydia G. Freedman of Alexandria has been appointed to the Louisiana State Arts Council. Freedman is a former teacher for the Catholic Diocese of Baton Rouge. She was nominated by the Arts Council of Central Louisiana. She will represent the 5th Congressional District and the 6th Arts Planning District.

Board of Supervisors of Community and Technical Colleges

The Board of Supervisors of Community and Technical Colleges serves as the management board for Louisiana’s public two-year institutions. Their mission is to improve the quality of life of the state’s citizens through education programs offered through their colleges.

Cynthia M. Butler-McIntyre of New Orleans has been appointed to the Board of Supervisors of Community and Technical Colleges. Butler-McIntyre is an independent field supervisor for iTeach. She will represent the 2nd Congressional District.

Early Identification of Deaf or Hard of Hearing Infants Advisory Council

The Early Identification of Hearing Impaired Infants Advisory Council advises the Office of Public Health on various aspects of the development and implementation of the Early Identification of Hearing Impairment in Infants Law, which includes making recommendations on risk factors for hearing loss, program standards and quality assurance, program integration with community resources, materials for distribution, and program implementation and follow-up.

Theresa V. Nicholls of Metairie has been reappointed to the Early Identification of Deaf or Hard of Hearing Infants Advisory Council. Nicholls is a speech-language pathologist and the special education coordinator for the lower school campus at Kenner Discovery Health Sciences Academy. She will serve as a speech and language pathologist.

Parish Board of Election Supervisors

The purpose of the board in each parish is to oversee and supervise all elections within the parish to ensure the safety and accuracy of the democratic process. The Board of Election Supervisors oversees the preparation and conducting of each election in the parish. Each parish’s board is composed of the parish’s registrar of voters, the parish’s clerk of court, the chairman of the parish executive committee of each recognized political party, and one member appointed by the governor.

Leroy J. Charles of Houma has been appointed to the Parish Board of Election Supervisors. Charles is the former president of Premier Inspection and Consultants LLC. He will serve as an election supervisor for Terrebonne Parish.

Louisiana Shrimp Task Force

The Louisiana Shrimp Task Force was created to study and monitor the shrimp industry and to make recommendations to the Wildlife and Fisheries Commission and the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries and other state agencies for the maximization of benefit from that industry for the state of Louisiana and its citizens.

Randy M. Pearce of New Orleans has been appointed to the Louisiana Shrimp Task Force. Pearce is the president of DoRan Seafood. He will serve as an alternate member and an active Louisiana shrimp processor.