Medicaid expansion coverage begins July 1. Now, your health is your choice.

Who can apply?

Any adult who meets the eligibility criteria listed below will be able to enroll in Medicaid under the expansion.

  • Aged 19 to 64 years old
  • Has a household income less than 138 % of the federal poverty level (see chart below)
  • Doesn't already qualify for Medicaid or Medicare
  • Must meet citizenship requirement

To enroll under expanded Medicaid, it will not be necessary to have a dependent child in your household. There is no asset test.

Click here to apply now.

People enrolled in GNOCHC or Take Charge Plus do not need to apply for Medicaid expansion coverage. Those eligible for Medicaid expansion coverage will get a letter from Medicaid telling them they will have full Medicaid effective July 1. Some Take Charge Plus enrollees will not be eligible for expanded Medicaid, but will retain their Take Charge Plus benefits. All GNOCHC enrollees will be enrolled in expanded Medicaid.

Note: All enrollees of these programs who have changed their mailing address since applying should click here to update their contact information. Any enrollee of these programs that qualify for expanded Medicaid but for whom DHH does not have a valid mailing address will lose their services and will not be enrolled in Medicaid on July 1, 2016.

138% of the Federal Poverty Level for 2016

Household Size






$        316

 $           631

 $        1,367

 $        16,395


$        426

 $           851

 $        1,843

 $        21,108


$        536

 $        1,071

 $        2,319

 $        27,821


$        645

 $        1,290

 $        2,795

 $        33,534


$        755

 $        1,510

 $        3,271

 $        39,248


$        865

 $        1,730

 $        3,747

 $        44,961


To Receive Coverage:  After you are notified that you are eligible, you choose a managed care plan and provider for each member of your family who has Medicaid or LaCHIP. You will also need to choose a managed care for each member who gets Behavioral Health Services.

Click here for more information.