What Does the Commission on Human Rights Do?

The role of the Louisiana Commission on Human Rights (LCHR) is to enforce specific laws pertaining to discriminatory practices in the state of Louisiana. To accomplish this purpose, the Commission uses distinct procedures for intake, investigation, mediation and determination to process official complaints of discrimination.

The Office of the Louisiana Commission on Human Rights is an assurance and a commitment by the state of Louisiana that the intent of the values of 'equality' and 'inalienable rights' are maintained.

–Dr. Leah Raby, Executive Director


How Do I Submit a Complaint?

LCHR handles complaints of employment discrimination based on race, color, national origin, religion, sex, disability, age, sickle cell trait, pregnancy, childbirth and related medical conditions. If you believe you have been discriminated because of any of these qualities, you can file a claim with the LCHR.

LCHR also provides protection against discrimination in public accommodations and banking and lending practices.

Requirements

  • Race, color, sex, national origin, religion and disability: Your employer must have at least 20 employees.
  • Age: Your employer must have at least 20 employees, and you must be age 40 or over.
  • Sickle cell trait: Your employer must have at least 20 employees.
  • Pregnancy, childbirth and related medical conditions: Your employer must have more than 25 employees.
  • Timing: The last alleged act involving discrimination must have occurred within the past 180 days. 

Equal Pay Discrimination

LCHR also investigates cases of equal pay discrimination when certain conditions are met. 

Equal pay applicability for public (state) employees follows the guidance of LSA R.S. 23:661 et seq.; wherein the state employee must work a minimum of 40 hours per week, serve the employer notice, and give the employer 60 days to investigate the matter before filing a complaint with LCHR.

Private employers are subject to the Louisiana Employment Discrimination Law – LSA R.S. 23:301 et seq. and R.S. 51:2231 et seq.; wherein the employee’s employer must have at least 20 or more employees, the last alleged act must have occurred within the past 180 days, and the employee must be a part of a protected class and similarly situated to file a complaint with LCHR.


What Happens After I File My Complaint?

An intake officer will review the intake documents and determine if the complaint is eligible. Based on a review of the file, the investigator will subsequently recommend a determination of the charge according to the gravity of the complaint. You will be notified once this determination has been made, even if your complaint is determined to be ineligible.

If your case meets LCHR's guidelines and cause is found, remedies available for employment discrimination may include back pay, promotion, front pay, reinstatement and/or reasonable accommodations. 


Staff

Resources


Mailing Address:

Office of the Governor
Louisiana Commission on Human Rights
P.O. Box 94094
Baton Rouge, LA 70804

Physical Address:

1001 N. 23rd Street
Suite 268
Baton Rouge, LA 70802


Phone: (225)342-6969


Fax: (225)342-2063


Links